Marathon News

We have dates locked in for the 2019 PaddleNSW Marathon Series! The first race (bonus round / Frank Harrison Memorial Race) will be held in Albury on the weekend of 23 / 24 February and hosted by the locals Mitta Mitta Canoe Club.

It will be followed on the 2nd March by the Marathon Series Round 1 in Canberra with hosts Burley Griffin Canoe Club. This will also incorporate the 2019 Marathon Singles State Championships.


2018 Marathon Pointscores

Congratulations to Lane Cove River Kayakers for winning the 2018 Marathon Championship (pointscore on the left) and for Manly Warringah Kayak Club for winning the 2018 ICT Trophy (right). Well done to all the clubs and paddlers who have participated this season, we will be looking forward to seeing you all again for 2019!


To see your individual results, please click here:

Still feeling nostalgic? Check out the pics from this as well as previous seasons in the PaddleNSW Marathon Fickr account!


Marathon 12 – Burrill Lake

Credit to Naomi Johnson from LCRK for this report! Many thanks!


For the second year running, the marathon series finale and presentation dinner was hosted by Makai Paddlers at Burrill Lake. Thunder storms held off just long enough for an exciting day of racing on the lake, with many paddlers eyes on the final divisional scores for the year.

Paddlers arriving at the Big4 Caravan Park on Saturday morning were rewarded with clear conditions and very little wind on the lake – perfect racing conditions. The course was a little different from the previous two years, taking paddlers due north before a sharp left turn into the rest of the lake. With minimal speed boat wash, fewer turn buoys and plenty of long, straight stretches, it was a great course and seemed particularly suited to the skis.

No sooner had we all dried ourselves and washed boats, the skies opened and the weekend’s promised thunderstorm began. Thunder crashed and the deluge of water threatened to fill any boat left out in the open a little too long. Luckily, the end-of-season dinner and presentations was held at the Ulladulla Ex-Servo, where we were treated to an excellent evening of food and company. The event was well-attended and spirits were high as we celebrated achievements through the year.

Alongside trophies for the top point-scorers in each of the 13 divisions, Paddle NSW also presented a number of additional trophies for exceptional efforts through the season.

Thanks both to a solid paddling cohort at every race and a particularly stellar field at the doubles round, Lane Cove won of the Brian Norman Trophy for the best-performing club. Manly again took out the ICF trophy for the most points scored in ICF boats through paddling and portaging.

Thanks are due both to Makai Paddlers for hosting such a great event, and to the 2018 Paddle NSW Marathon Committee for their tireless work to make all twelve races in the series run smoothly. That’s it on the marathon calendar for this year… but then there’s 2019!