Sprint State Champs Wrap Up

Riley Clarke (Salty Paddlers) - Overall Girls Junior Champion

We were lucky to be able to hold our Sprint State Championships on the 16 and 17th Jan, as the COVID19 lockdown kept many of our athletes isolated and off the water till a week before the regatta.  After the last minute cancellation of our PNSW GP1 regatta we were prepared for the worst, but Penrith turned on a great weekend for us.

120 NSW paddlers competed, with no interstate or international athletes this year.  Some were National team members and some were first timers, but there was some great racing and all athletes were just happy to be out there again after a difficult year. We welcomed Illawarra Canoe Club to State Champs for the first time in some years, along with our usual Sprint clubs, Avoca KC, Manly Warringah KC, Salty Paddlers and Sydney Northern Beaches KC and a few individual paddlers from Windsor CC, Makai  and the ACT. We had Canoe athletes, new Torpedo paddlers, ParaCanoe athletes as well as Kayak paddlers.

It was a hot weekend, and on Saturday, a strong headwind made for some slow times, but Sunday saw perfect conditions.

Ashby Allen (Avoca KC) and Toby Schooley (Sydney Northern Beaches KC) – Overall joint Junior Boys Champions

PNSW State 16 and 18 Years teams were selected, for the first time in many years. This is a new initiative from PaddleAustralia designed to give training and competition opportunities to up and coming athletes. Although they will not be travelling overseas this year, the teams will attend training camps and be involved in State Vs State racing at PaddleAustralia National Championships.

The James Memorial Cup, awarded to the Overall Junior Champion boy, was this year shared between 2 athletes who had equal pointscore, Ashby Allen from Avoca KC and Toby Schooley from Sydney Northern Beaches KC. The Trouville Memorial Cup, awarded to the Overall Junior Champion girl, was won by Riley Clarke from the Salty Paddlers. The Morison Memorial Cup, awarded to the champion club, was won again by Sydney Northern Beaches Kayak Club.

It was fantastic to see so many fine performances after such a tough year and so many athletes having a great time being back on the water. Thanks to everyone who helped out officiating and volunteering over the weekend. And thanks to the PNSW Sprint Committee for your time and expertise. It was indeed a team effort.

Sally Simons
PNSW Sprint Committee Chair

Congratulations to the following athletes on their selection:

U18 Male
Callum Elliott                          Makai
Lucas Raikuna                        SNBKC
Harrison Taurins                     SNBKC
Ashby Allen                            Avoca KC
Bailey Connolly                       Avoca KC
Toby Schooley                        SNBKC

U18 Female
Lily Fitzgerald                         Salty Paddlers
Clea Jordi                               SNBKC
Evelyn Ritchie                         SNBKC
Riley Clarke                            Salty paddlers
Hanako Greuter                      SNBKC
India Newton                          Salty Paddlers

U16 Male
Kynan Burke                          Illawarra CC
Michael Dunbar                      SNBKC
Charlie Heaton-Armstrong       Salty Paddlers
Alexander Raikuna                  SNBKC
Guy Robinson                         SNBKC
Sean Ryce                              SNBKC
Daniel Sharkey                       SNBKC
Ziko Vesely                            SNBKC
Jacob Wilson                          SNBKC

U16 Female

Bridie Brennan                        SNBKC
Rosie Brennan                         SNBKC
Natalia Drobot                        Avoca KC
Tylah Richards                        Illawarra CC
Zoe Shirdon                            SNBKC
Amelia Thornthwaite               SNBKC
Nina Fitzgerald                       SNBKC
Olivia hall                               Illawarra CC

Previous article75 Paddlers at BRCC Whitewater Weekend!
Next articleSeabird Rescue