Marathon Series 2021: Divisional Winners & Place-Getters

Congratulations to all those who paddled in the 2021 Marathon Series! While a handful of our races in the second half of the year were COVID-cancelled, it was great to see paddlers out and about around the state from February to June, and then at the Narrabeen Marathon Finale hosted by Manly Warringah Kayak Club.

Young paddler in a red boat paddling towards the camera
Jai Crossett won Div 13 in the 2022 Marathon Series (Image: Ian Wrenford)

As a result of the curtailed racing season, seasonal results were calculated from the best five races across the year. The Marathon Committee is proud to have a number of divisions won by up-and-coming juniors, and are looking forwards to developing junior participation into 2022.

Thank you to clubs for the work that they put in each year to get Marathon Series races up and running. While the focus on the day is so often on the racers themselves, there is a huge amount of work that goes in behind the scenes to ensure a smooth day on the water.

See you on the water in 2022!

Full results for 2021 races available here

Flickr albums of pics from 2021 races

Man in orange clothing and lifejacket paddling on a white ski
Mike McKeogh won Div 2 in 2021, by the slimmest of margins! (Image: Ian Wrenford)

Division 1
1st – Brett Greenwood
2nd (equal) – Casey Haynes = James Pralija

Division 2
1st – Michael McKeogh
2nd – Trevor Nichols
3rd – Craig Elliott

Division 3
1st (equal) – David Young = Scott Tyers
3rd – Stephen Shelley

Division 4
1st – David Lowe
2nd – Mark Moro
3rd – Emily O’Rourke

Division 5
1st – Bernie Craggs
2nd – John Preston
3rd – Danielle Winslow & Bob Collins

Woman on yellow ski paddling ahead of the tip of a white ski
Robyn Bingle took out Div 7 in 2021 (Image: Ian Wrenford)

Division 6
1st – David Dibdin
2nd – Karen Hadjinicola
3rd – Greg Thompson

Division 7
1st – Robyn Bingle

Division 8
1st (equal) – Lachlan Stokes = Albert Cobb & Geoffrey Dawes
3rd Greg Hillier & Sue Smith

Division 9
1st – Warwick Nichols

Division 10
1st – Mike Schanzer
2nd – Judy Greenidge & Jill Parker
3rd – Len Hedges

Man paddling on a stand-up paddleboard
Simon Kent-Jones was the inaugural SUP 15km distance winner (Image: Ian Wrenford)

Division 11
1st – Gerry Foster
2nd – Dianne & Warren Mason
3rd – Geoffery Horsnell

Division 12
1st – Sue Huehn
2nd – Margaret Dodd
3rd – Allan Newhouse

Division 13
1st – Jai Crossett
2nd – Bailey Campton
3rd – John Greathead

SUP 15km
1st – Simon Kent-Jones

Previous articleJo Brigden-Jones – a Stellar Career
Next articlePaddleNSW Launches Seasons 2022